Merry Christmas

To all.

As I did on Thanksgiving Day, I was going to post the words of a hymn, followed by a link to a video performance of it that I especially like.  However, when I Googled this particular hymn, every different version that I clicked on was different.  There is apparently no agreement on this. In fact, in the video below, at one point the words (subtitles) on the video clearly differ from what the people are actually singing!

So, I will settle for just the first verse, upon which there seems to be universal agreement:

O come all ye faithful joyful and triumphant
Oh come ye O come ye to Bethlehem;
come and behold him born the King of angels;
Oh come let us adore Him,
Oh come let us adore Him,
O come let us adore Him, Christ the Lord.

And the video. It’s a nice one. Of course, given the sheer variety of versions of this hymn, I suppose it’s a tossup whether this version will be doctrinally congruent with the beliefs of a random reader here. However, in the spirit of Christmas, I imagine we can all live with that. :)

Leave a Reply

