Additional Remarks on the First Debate

I don’t believe it was a blowout in Clinton’s favor by any means.  Trump  did get in some good points, and Clinton did make some errors.  However, if we’re keeping track of mistakes made last night, Trump made more than Clinton, and Clinton herself came out stronger than most Trump supporters were expecting. Trump also did not control the frame, Clinton did (with a lot of help from a shill moderator). That in itself is the biggest point in Clinton’s favor. On the other hand, Clinton did seem a lot like the snobby girl who thinks she knows better than everybody else what’s good for them.

A lot of Trump supporters spent a good deal of time speculating about how exactly Clinton would fail to make it through the debate without some sort of health-related incident: would it be a seizure, a coughing fit, a full-on collapse? Having none of those things happen was not a pleasant surprise at all. I actually spent a good portion of the debate wondering how in the hell her docs managed to prop her up so well. (Later last night, I believe I had the answer: embalming fluid!!) In all seriousness, the concerns that have been raised about Hillary’s health are still there. Not only that, it’s now obvious that whatever the problem is, it’s not totally debilitating, which means she has even less excuse, legitimate or not, to keep covering it up. The People have a right to be  informed, truthfully, about what’s going on.

A big part of why I’m so bothered by this debate is personal: I was really hoping for such an extreme blowout of Clinton that my parents would be convinced to switch sides.  Or at least my father. However, that is probably not a  realistic hope, which means I was setting myself up for disappointment.

I was also hoping to see Trump convey himself similarly to how he’s been at recent rallies. He’s changed his style a lot recently, in an effort to reassure middle-of-the-road voters that he’s not the nutjob warmonger that the media says he is. On that front, I don’t think last night was entirely a success.

Reports and discussion I’ve read this morning indicate that quite a lot of viewers think Trump did better than I thought he did. Many online polls are giving Trump the edge.  That is good news.

Frankly, I am thoroughly sick of this whole campaign, and just want to get on with the business of making America great again.

[edit] Here’s an interesting take on the debate by Scott Adams.  Very much worth a read.  He is more observant than I am, particularly with regards to Clinton.  I spent a good part of the debate with another browser window covering up her face so I didn’t have to look at it. :) Of particular interest is Adams’ contention that Trump may have lost the battle last night, but by doing so he won the war.

Leave a Reply

